From Iceland — Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson Re-Elected UPDATED

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson Re-Elected UPDATED

Published June 30, 2012

With over 192,000 votes of 235,784 registered voters counted, incumbent president Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson has a significant lead over his opponents, with an almost 20% lead over his closest opponent, Þóra Arnórsdóttir.
RÚV reports the following results of the first count for the Icelandic 2012 presidential elections:

Andrea Jóhanna Ólafsdóttir: 4,013 votes – 2.08%.
Ari Trausti Guðmundsson: 16,211votes – 8.41%.
Hannes Bjarnason: 2,021 votes – 1.05%.
Herdís Þorgeirsdóttir: 5,366 votes – 2.78%
Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson: 101,155 votes – 52.48%.
Þóra Arnórsdóttir: 63,997 votes – 33.20%.

Ólafur declined to comment on the first results, although among the other candidates, Þóra said she recognised the effort in going up against an incumbent while Herdís was more blunt; saying that the election results so far prove that the elections were a fight between two political blocs: the conservative opposition supporting Ólafur and the ruling coalition voters supporting Þóra.
Ari said that he would not rule out running again in four years, an opinion echoed by Herdís and Andrea. Þóra, however, said that she would not run again.
Should Ólafur be re-elected, this will make his fifth term, ending in a total of 20 years in office.
UPDATE: Vísir reports that Ólafur Ragnar is the winner of the election, getting 51.5% of the vote. Þóra won 33.7%. Ari Trausti came in third, with 8.9% of the vote, followed by Herdís and Andrea, who both got 2.5%. Hannes won less than a percentage point.
Ólafur is Iceland’s only president to be elected to five terms.

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!


Show Me More!