About - The Reykjavik Grapevine

About

About The Reykjavík Grapevine Magazine
The Reykjavík Grapevine is a free alternative magazine in English published 21 times a year; four times (monthly) during the off season period of November-February and 17 times (bi-weekly) between March and October. The magazine is distributed all over Iceland to about 1000 locations. 25,000 copies of each issue are printed, usually at 48-64 pages long.

The magazine covers everything Iceland-related, with a special focus on news-related events, human interest stories, music, culture, food, travel and events. The magazine’s main goal is to remain a reliable and trusted source for information and entertainment. Due to our excellent distribution network and dedicated readership, The Reykjavík Grapevine is by far the Icelandic tourist market’s most prevalent publication.

About Grapevine.is
Grapevine.is is an entertainment and information website that caters to Iceland enthusiasts, English-speaking Icelanders and travellers planning a trip to the country. At its core, Grapevine.is is the web-edition of the biggest and most widely read tourist publication in Iceland, The Reykjavík Grapevine, adding to that a wide selection of materials that make full use of the web’s potential.

The site contains articles on all of the main topics of discourse in Iceland at each time: in cultural life, politics or general social affairs. Naturally, a high emphasis is placed on tourism in Iceland and the many options visitors to the country are faced with. The site also features a thorough events listing section where one can find updated information and recommendations for shows, concerts, clubs and events and a grand, continuously updated database of Iceland’s main restaurants, clubs, cafés, shops, museums, tours and tourist attractions. Every back issue of The Reykjavík Grapevine may be read and downloaded from Grapevine.is, and new issues are made available upon their street date.

Freelance writing
We welcome interest from Iceland-based freelance writers. Send some examples of your work to grapevine@grapevine.is. Paygrade of contributors 2019.

Internships
We run a three month intern programme, offering a chance to see how the process of making our magazine works up close, get invaluable feedback on your writing, and get some words into print. Download the application here, and send the filled out version to grapevine@grapevine.is with a CV and some examples of your work.

Founders:
Hilmar Steinn Grétarsson,
Hörður Kristbjörnsson,
Jón Trausti Sigurðarson,
Oddur Óskar Kjartansson,
Valur Gunnarsson

Publisher:
Hilmar Steinn Grétarsson / hilmar@grapevine.is

Editor-in-Chief
Valur Grettisson / valur@grapevine.is

Managing Editor (+ Food, Travel, Culture): 
John Rogers / john@grapevine.is

Art Director:
Sveinbjörn Pálsson / sveinbjorn@grapevine.is

News Editor: 
Andie Fontaine / andie@grapevine.is

Photo Editor: 
Art Bicnick / art@grapevine.is

Listings Director:
Hannah Jane Cohen / hannah@grapevine.is

Sales Directors:
Aðalsteinn Jörundsson / adalsteinn@grapevine.is
Helgi Þór Harðarson / helgi@grapevine.is

Distribution:
distribution@grapevine.is