From Iceland — Some Results From The Icelandic Music Awards

Some Results From The Icelandic Music Awards

Published March 9, 2011

The Icelandic Music Awards were held at the National Theatre of Iceland yesterday, with Jónsi’s album Go winning rock album of the year.
One of the anomalies pointed out by Morgunblaðið about the awards is that no one made a sweep this year; the different awards were, for the most part, given to different musicians.
Musician Þórir Baldursson, who has worked both at home and abroad for decades, was given a lifetime achievement award.
The album cover of the year was awarded to Pólýfónía by Apparat Organ Quartet, designed by Sigurður Eggertsson.
The musicians of the year were Ágúst Ólafsson and Gerrit Schuill, who last year released three of composer Schubert’s last pieces based on poetry.
Kristinn Sigmundsson was awarded voice of the year, and the “brightest hope” was judged to be trumpeter Ari Bragi Kárason.
The lyricist of the year was Bjartmar Guðlaugsson, for the album Skrýtin veröld.
Composer of the year was Ólöf Arnalds, for the songs on her album Innundir skinni, while the song of the year was “Hamingjan er hér” by Jónas Sigurðsson.
The composition of the year was awarded to Anna Þorvaldsdóttir for Hrím – fyrir hljómsveit.
Mezzoforte won the publishing award, while Ditka was chosen as the act of the year according to a telephone poll held during the festival itself.
The jazz album of the year was Horn by Jóel Pálsson.
The rock album of the year was awarded to Jón Þór Birgisson, better known as Jónsi from the band Sigur Rós, for his album Go. The judges’ comments read in part, “Jónsi uses all the tricks he learned with Sigur Rós and adds glittering pearls from his treasure chest. Experience and confidence go together with incredibly precise song delivery, excellent playing and sophisticated production.”

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!