From Iceland — Andri Snær Wins Kairos Award

Andri Snær Wins Kairos Award

Published December 3, 2009

Andri Snær Magnason, author and director of Draumalandið, will receive the 2010 Kairos Award. This was announced by the Alfred Toepfer Foundation yesterday.
The award will be given to Magnason on 28 February 2010, and comes with a cash prize of 75,000 euros (about 13 million ISK). According to Vísir, the Kairos Award has been given in the past to such European artists as Harold Pinter, Pina Bausch, Imre Kertesz, David Hockney and Ólafur Elíasson.
A statement from the Alfred Toepfer Foundation says in part that Magnason won the award because “with humor and the power of persuasion, he lent the powerful grassroots movement in Iceland his voice and his creative talents.”

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!