From Iceland — Nordic Council Literature Prize Moving To Iceland

Nordic Council Literature Prize Moving To Iceland

Published September 17, 2014

Nanna Árnadóttir
Photo by

The Nordic Literature Prize, which is given out annually to authors for novels in a Nordic language, will henceforth be headquartered in Reykjavík’s Nordic House, reports Vísir.

Day-to-day management of the Nordic Literature Prize will be handled by the Nordic House, though it is uniquely placed to do so as it already houses an extensive Nordic language library.

The prize has been awarded since 1962 for a work of imaginative literature written in one of the Nordic languages.

In all, 7 Icelandic authors have won the prize since it began in 1962. The most recent Icelandic author to win was Gyrðir Elíasson, who won for Milli trjánna, his collection of short stories, in 2011.

Two Icelandic authors have been nominated for the prize this year, Eiríkur Örn Norðdahl for his novel Illska and Auður Jónsdóttir for Ósjálfrátt.

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!