From Iceland — Icelandic Music Awards: Prins Póló Wins 2 Categories, Is Playing Our Show Tonight!

Icelandic Music Awards: Prins Póló Wins 2 Categories, Is Playing Our Show Tonight!

Published February 21, 2015

Viking metallers Skálmöld tops 2014 award list with three wins to their name

Viking metallers Skálmöld tops 2014 award list with three wins to their name

Full list of Icelandic Music Awards winners below. Prins PólóGrapevine’s BAND OF 2014 and makers of THE SONG OF 2014won two categories at last night’s Icelandic Music Awards; for making “Pop Album of 2014,” and with main man Svavar Pétur claiming the title of “Songwriter of 2014” in the pop division. Lucky you can learn just why everyone loves Prins Póló so much at tonight’s inaugural Húrra! Grapevine! concert, where the band is joined by the increasingly irresistible Páll Ivan frá Eiðum (stream a playlist of his tracks here to prepare!). Tickets are moving fast, so be smart and get yours online right now!

Other winners that might be of special interest to Grapevine readers include Skálmöld, who took the cake for “Best lyricist,” “Best performers,” and “Music event of the year” (for their show with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra), current Oscar nominee-slash-recent Golden Globe winner-slash-former HAM badass Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer Daníel Bjarnason, who won “Composition of the year,” and was named “Composer of the year,” crazy jazz futurists ADHD, who won “Composition of the year” for the track Sveðjan off ADHD5,  Samaris, who won Icelandair’s “Export award,” hot young things Young Karin, who won “Best newcomer album” and last but definitely not least The Sugarcubes, who were honoured for their career and life’s work.

Check it out, here’s the full list of winners for the 2014 Icelandic Music Awards:


Album of the year—Rock

In The Eye Of The Storm—Mono Town

Album of the year—Pop

Sorrí—Prins Póló

Song of the year—Rock

Peacemaker—Mono Town

Song of the yearPop

Color Decay—Unnar Gísli Sigurmundsson (Júníus Meyvant)

Male vocalist

Valdimar Guðmundsson (Valdimar)

Female vocalist

Salka Sól Eyfeld (AmabAdamA)

Music performer


Music event of the year

Skálmöld and the Iceland Symphony Orchestra at Eldborg


Snæbjörn Ragnarsson (Skálmöld)


Svavar Pétur Eysteinsson (Prins Póló)

Newcomer album of the year

n1—Young Karin

Brightest hope

Júníus Meyvant


Album cover of the year

Kippi Kanínus—Temperaments

Designed by: Ingibjörg Birgisdóttir and Orri Jónsson

Music video of the year

Úlfur Úlfur—Tarantúlur

Director: Magnús Leifsson

(what a great goddamn video though. As Icelandic as it gets!)

Producer of the year

Jóhann Jóhannsson—for The Theory Of Everything

Open category album of the year

The Theory Of Everything—Jóhann Jóhannsson

The Icelandair Export Award



Music event of the year

Summer concert at Skálholt church

Male vocalist of the year

Elmar Gilbertsson

Female vocalist of the year

Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir

Album of the year

Fantasíur fyrir einleiksfiðlu by G.P. Telemann—Elfa Rún Kristinsdóttir

Composition of the year

Ek ken di nag—Daníel Bjarnason

Composer of the year

Daníel Bjarnason for the compositions Blow Bright og Ek ken di nag

Live performer of the year

Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson

Brightest hope

Oddur Arnþór Jónsson


Brightest hope

Anna Gréta Sigurðardóttir, piano player and songwriter

Composition of the year

Sveðjan—ADHD, from ADHD5

Album of the year

Íslendingur í Alhambrahöll—Stórsveit Reykjavíkur

Composer of the year

Stefán S. Stefánsson, for his work on Íslendingur í Alhambrahöll

Music performer of the year

Sigurður Flosason

Music event of the year

Reykjavík Jazz Festival


The Icelandic Music Awards honorary prize this year goes to The Sugarcubes. Much respect to them and all their work, of course.


Full list of 2014 nominees (English).


Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!