From Iceland — Sónar 2016 Sounds Off More Artists, Now Even More Exciting

Sónar 2016 Sounds Off More Artists, Now Even More Exciting

Published November 4, 2015

Rebecca Conway
Photo by

Sónar ups its game today, announcing new additions to its quickly swelling lineup. Now set to perform at the festival in February 2016 are German DJ and producer Boys Noize, Detroit rapper Angel Haze, President Bongo (formerly of Gusgus) and his Emotional Carpenters, Icelandic techno-star Bjarki, and Icelandic pop superstar/hero Páll Óskar, among others.

Joining acts Lone and ELOQ on the foreign front are Berlin-based Ellen Allien, reigning Danish techno-queen Courtesy, Unkwon, and DJ E.D.D.E.H. Dubstep prince Ben UFO and neuroscientist-by-day/electronic-musician-by-night Floating Points also promise to add a little taste of the British music scene.

On the homefront, resident acts in the lineup include Sónar recurring faves Kiasmos as well as Sónar newbies GKR, Káro, DJ Katla, Tandri, Julia Ruslanova, and Intr0beatz.

This new wave of artists follows an already auspicious first announcement, which promised performances by Hudson Mohawke, Holly Herndon, Squarepusher, Úlfur Úlfur, and Vaginaboys, to name a few. Take a gander at the official lineup here.

The festival is slated for February 18-20, 2016 and will take place on five stages in Harpa, as well as in the concert hall’s underground carpark, which morphs into a dance club during the festival. Now in its fourth year, Sónar Reykjavík is attracting unprecedented international attention, with ticket sales in the UK, Germany, and Canada moving faster than ever .

While we now know the identities of thirty-four acts performing at Sónar Reykjavík 2016, festival representatives have announced that the roster will feature over  seventy. With a little less than half the festival lineup in our hands, we can only wait with bated breath and hopeful hearts.

Tickets run from 11,990 ISK. You can purchase them here

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!