From Iceland — Iceland Airwaves Update: 2018 Edition Adds Eclectic International Names

Iceland Airwaves Update: 2018 Edition Adds Eclectic International Names

Published May 24, 2018

After eye-catching announcements including Fever Ray, Blood Orange, Cashmere Cat and Tommy Ca$h, Iceland Airwaves today announced a raft of new international and local acts who’ll play the 2018 edition.

It’s an interesting selection, including up ‘n’ coming bands from an eclectic mixture of countries, including Belgian/Egyptian/Lebanese artist Tamino, Faroese guitar-pop band Danny & The Veetos, Syrian dabke legend Rizan Said, intriguing Portuguese dream-pop and electronica artist Surma, and Greenlandic guitar band Nanook.

On the Icelandic side, Grapevine Music Awards “One To Watch” winner einarIndra joins the lineup, alongside award-winning composer Ólafur Arnalds, a plethora of rappers, electro-drag artist Mighty Bear, alt-crooner Högni, and many more.

The new international acts in full:
Natalie Prass (US), Off Bloom (DK), Injury Reserve (US), Tamino (EG, BE), Stella Donnelly (AU), Crumb (US), Fieh (NO), Rizan Said (SY), Philip Emelio (NO), Jimothy Lacoste (UK), Tuvaband (NO), Surma (PT), Danny & The Veetos (FO), Nanook (GR)

The new Icelandic acts in full:
Högni, Sturla Atlas, Emmsjé Gauti, Joey Christ, Birnir, Berndsen, Sóley, Daði Freyr, Birgir, Kött Grá Pjé, MR. Silla, GlerAkur, VIO, AFK, Svala, Sura, Karitas, Hinemoa, einarIndra, Andartak, Ring of Gyges, Shakes, VAR, Mighty Bear, kef LAVÍK, Beebee and the bluebirds, Future Figment, Munstur

Tickets are on sale now.

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!