From Iceland — The Final Six: Winners Of Kraumur Music Awards 2018 Announced

The Final Six: Winners Of Kraumur Music Awards 2018 Announced
Photo by
Hörður Sveinsson

The Kraumur Music Awards have announced the final winners from their impressively diverse 2018 longlist.

The six winning releases this year are:

Auður – Afsakanir
Bagdad Brothers – JÆJA.
Elli Grill – Pottþétt Elli Grill
GDRN – Hvað ef
Kælan mikla – Nótt eftir Nótt
ROHT – Iðnsamfélagið og framtíð þess

One of these bands—Kælan Mikla—was on the cover of the last issue of Grapevine. Read out in-depth interview here. You’ll find interviews with several of the others in the music archive.

The winners each get cash prizes, donated by the Aurora Fund, a private philanthropic organisation. The adjudicating panel listen to no less than 343 Icelandic albums released in the year 2018 before decided on the long list. See all the bands that were nominated here.

Previous winners have included ADHD, Agent Fresco, Alvia Islandia, Amiina, Anna Þorvaldsdóttir, Ásgeir, Cell7, Daniel Bjarnason, FM Belfast, GKR, Gyda Valtýsdóttir, JFDR, Lay Low, MAMMÚT, Moses Hightower, Ólöf Arnalds, Retro Stefson, Sin Fang, and many more.

See more pictures from the ceremony on our Instagram. Congratulations, everyone!

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!