From Iceland — Björk And Teitur Magnússon Nominated For Nordic Music Prize

Björk And Teitur Magnússon Nominated For Nordic Music Prize

Published January 20, 2016

Andie Sophia Fontaine
Photo by
Timothée Lambrecq

The nominees for the Nordic Music Prize have been announced, and the two seminal Icelandic artists are amongst them.

According to an announcement posted on the prize’s website, Iceland is represented by two albums: Teitur Magnússon’s 27 and Björk’s Vulnicura.

27 is the first album Teitur has put out as a part of his solo career – his previous musical incarnation, Ojba Rasta, was a reggae band which enjoyed considerable popularity in Iceland. Nordic Prize organisers say Teitur is “naïve in a clever, deliberate way; disarmingly melodic in his simple, tuneful songs that are all infused with thoughtful, direct lyrics”.

Vulnicura, Björk’s ninth LP of her solo career, was released a year ago today, and has enjoyed critical praise from around the globe. Nordic Prize organisers describe the album as “like a dark-hued version of Joni Mitchell’s Blue, it’s almost unbearable in its emotional honesty”.

This year’s winner of the prize will be announced on March 3. Stay tuned!

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!