From Iceland — Harpa Wins EU Architecture Award

Harpa Wins EU Architecture Award

Published April 29, 2013

Rex Beckett

The Harpa Concert Hall and Conference Centre has been awarded the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, Vísir reports.
Better known as the Mies van der Rohe Award, it will be handed out in Barcelona on June 7 to the building’s designers, Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson. “We are incredibly grateful,” says Peer Teglgaard, a spokesperson for Henning Larsen. “Harpa became a reality due to many hard working people, perserverance and commitment. It has become a symbol for the renewed power of Iceland.”
Harpa was chosen as the winner out of 350 submitted buildings from 37 different European nations, for a grand prize of 60,000 EUR (about 9 million ISK). The award was established in 1987 by the EU and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation and is handed out every two years. The Olso Opera House was the previous winner in 2009.

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!