From Iceland — Music News: Final Airwaves Lineup + Kiasmos, Grísalappalísa & Björk Return

Music News: Final Airwaves Lineup + Kiasmos, Grísalappalísa & Björk Return

Published September 6, 2017

Music News: Final Airwaves Lineup + Kiasmos, Grísalappalísa & Björk Return
Photo by
Art Bicnick

One of Iceland’s best live acts, the furiously energetic punk-poetry collective Grísalappalísa, has returned. They dropped a new video last week, premiered at and directed by the band’s drummer, Sigurður Möller Sívertsen. The song is called ‘Kvæðaþjófurinn,’ and it’s the band’s first original material since the release of the ‘Rökrétt Framhald’ LP in 2014. It’s also our first taste of their third album, which is set for a 2018 release. “It’s sonic blast of smudge-y punk-rock,” says the band. “The title roughly translates to ‘The Poetry-Thief,’ and is narrated by a character called Kvæðaþjófurinn. Figures of Icelandic literature like Sjón, Megas & Elías Mar get in his path as he tries to steal articles of their clothing, and medicine, in search for inspiration in his cannibalistic nature.”

Iceland Airwaves has announced the final 63 bands for the 2017 lineup. Amongst the newly announced batch is the legendary troubadour Megas, who will perform at the National Theatre on November 2, backed up by a choir and a symphony orchestra. Other acts added to the lineup include sóley, Vök, Fufanu, Flamingods (UK/BH), Jón Jónsson, Úlfur Úlfur, Gangly, Valdimar, Gyða Valtýsdóttir, Moses Hightower and amiina. Airwaves will also be held in Akureyri this year, with acts including Ásgeir, Emiliana Torrini & The Colorist, Mura Masa, 200.000 Naglbítar, Stefflon Don, Daniel OG, Mammút, Vök, Aron Can, Emmsje Gauti, Joey Christ, JFDR and more.

The much lauded simmering classical/techno crossover project Kiasmos—aka composer Ólafur Arnalds and Bloodgroup star Janus Rasmussen—has announced a new release. The ‘Blurred’ EP will consist of six new tracks, and is set for an October 6th release via the Erased Tapes label. The duo will headline a live show at Húrra on September 30th to celebrate the new release—the doors open 9pm, and tickets will be 2,500 ISK at the door.

Björk has announced that on September 22 she will release the EP, “The Gate”. The song will be released on a limited edition 12” vinyl–very limited. She has said that the track is mainly a love song–about love as an over encompassing holistic phenomena no less. “Vulnicura was about personal loss,” Björk said, claiming that the new album deals with love, which she is rediscovering in a very spiritual way. We wish her luck in her affairs of the heart.

Support The Reykjavík Grapevine!
Buy subscriptions, t-shirts and more from our shop right here!

Show Me More!